Being a Soccer Mom – Can I live up to it?

I am not sure if you are all aware, but it’s softball season.

Why is that important?  Well, all the mothers of those girls who are playing softball are going to have to add all the games to their schedules and that can get kind of hectic.  At least that is what my technologist and one of my patients were telling me.

So you have to go to all of their games?  I only remember my mother coming to one of my sporting events when I was in high school.

“Oh no.  It’s standard now.  You’d be considered a bad parent if you didn’t go,” my technologist tells me.

Really?  I suddenly got this sinking feeling.  Just recently, my daughter told me she wanted to play soccer.  This is in addition to piano lessons and dance class.  Not to mention I have another daughter who I also don’t want to deprive.  Right now, I feel like I can barely handle one activity!  As I tried to imagine myself juggling all of these activities after a full day of work, I envisioned being able to drop them off (maybe two of them at the same time) and maybe run some errands before I had to pick them up.  Or, I could have a babysitter drop them off.  Keep the kids occupied so I might have some time to do other things.  Well, that just went out the window.

So, as I checked out the schedules for soccer camps, I wondered if I was going to be able add soccer mom to the list of other titles I carry.  Can I live up to it?  I guess only time will tell…

Leave a Reply

